The most important thing to understand regarding a South Lake Tahoe DUI is that the Court and DMV are acting independently of each other. You can face separate and independent consequences from the Court and the DMV. After a DUI arrest, you must contact the DMV within 10 days to request a hearing or DMV will automatically suspend your license after 30 days.
DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs) encompasses many charges under the California Vehicle Code. The charges a person faces will depend on driving history, blood-alcohol concentration and any injuries, among many other factors. In California, DUI is a typically a misdemeanor, but certain factors such as repeat offenses or injury can elevate the charge to a felony. Hiring a skilled DUI lawyer will ensure the best outcome to your case.
If you have been charged with a DUI, please call South Lake Tahoe attorney Adam T. Spicer at (530) 539-4130 to ensure that your rights are preserved.